Board of Trustees

Lisa Self – President

Charlie Morrison – Vice President

Joyce Stuart – Secretary

Board Members

Pat Baynes

Mike Tomlinson

Megan Stuart

Andy Drake

Library Staff

Steve Brindza – Director

Jeremy VanMeter – Fiscal Officer

Sharon Morgan – Assistant Director

Assistant Librarians

Carol Warner

Melissa Reece

Mindi Kell

Angela McFarland

Jeanne Wilt

Misty Wheeler



The meetings of the Board of Trustees are currently being held on the second Thursday of every month, unless otherwise noted.  The museum board meets prior to the 6:15 p.m. board meeting of the Mt. Sterling Public Library’s board of trustees.

The Board of Trustees of the Mt. Sterling Public Library shall consist of seven members appointed by the Board of Education of the Madison Plains Local School District. Each member shall serve a term of seven years. State law dictates these regulations. A member may serve more than one term.

When a vacancy occurs on the Board of Trustees, it shall be the practice of the Board to solicit viable candidates for the vacancy.

The Board of Trustees shall have all the powers granted to it by the laws of the State of Ohio and shall establish, in accordance with said law, the basic policies of the Library with respect to 1) the appropriation and budgeting of funds 2) the establishment and maintenance of Library agencies and Library services 3) the acquisition, maintenance, insurance, use and disposition of properties 4) the practices appertaining to hiring, compensation and responsibilities of, and practices concerning all employees; the practices appertaining to the collection, lending and disposition of all Library materials and 5) the acceptance of gifts.
The Director shall maintain a file of all Board Policies for appropriate consultation and distribution as directed by the Board and required by law.

The Board of Trustees shall hold a regular meeting once a month at the time agreed upon. Occasionally there will be a month that a meeting is not needed, and sometimes special meetings shall be called as needed. Notice will be made available to the public as soon as possible in these instances.  Meetings shall be conducted in accordance with the State of Ohio’s “Sunshine Laws.” The quorum necessary for the Board to transact business shall be four members.